Exposing and Breaking Controlling Spirits-on WordPress?

This is a good series from Roberta Morrison. I’ve been reviewing it and getting a lot out of it that applies to relationships, even here on the WordPress blogosphere, where spiritual issues are concerned.  I’ve had to examine my own life to try and understand why, at various times, I’ve had the misfortune to seem to be a magnet for dysfunctional, manipulative and controlling people. Most recently, within the last 3 years, I’ve had 3 people who’ve tried to latch onto me, and begin trying to take over my time…and life in a most aggressive way. I’ve been one of those people who try to be nice to people and as the word says, to try and be at peace as much as is possible, letting love cover all sins. But sometimes, boundaries have to be set. even if it offends the other person, like it or not.  As a Christian, I believe the issues that pertain to our personal lives, most certainly navigate over into our spiritual lives, if we are not very careful.  We’re all learning….there is no one that can say they are a finished product spiritually.  So, what I’m trying to convey here is going to be more than just a cautionary tale, but addressing real problems with manipulative, controlling people, and especially those claiming to be Christians who may be approaching us from such a spirit, through our blogs and other social media, even emails.  For example, I’ve had several who’ve come onto my blog, at first appearing to be very encouraging and supporting, expressing their “love” for me, and then gradually, becoming more controlling and aggressive to the point where I began feeling oppressed, and that they wanted to control or have a say in what I posted…..or apparently, even what I thought, and/or believed. And that everything I posted had to be filtered through them, according to their doctrines, and the stuff on their own blogs and websites. Yes, astonishingly,  I was being bombarded with “teaching links” from their blogs, that were being sent to me, and also posted on my blog in the comment section; some of them quite lengthy. Even though I didn’t follow through with reading all this stuff, just doing damage control  in trying to deal with this was taking up too much of my time…time which I needed for other important things…like prayer, study, and even my family!   Apparently, they felt they were the sole arbiters of truth and that I needed their advice on just about everything and that I should be “admonished” by them.

The saying goes, and I believe it, that manipulation is as witchcraft. If  someone comes to you, that you don’t really know, telling you they “feel led” to tell you to do this or that…BEWARE! You don’t know that God told them to do that and nine times out of ten…He didn’t! These types of CINO “Christians” in name only,  are spiritual vampires…I don’t care how much scripture they have in their arsenal; it’s their motives I’m looking at, and when a so-called Christian becomes overbearing and doesn’t recognize or observe appropriate boundaries with us, we need to set those boundaries for our own preservation and spiritual safety. The bible says,  “Work out your own salvation”…not someone elses!

 

 

6 comments on “Exposing and Breaking Controlling Spirits-on WordPress?

  1. Dwight says:

    I came in to your blog at a post titled, “Spiritual Abuse-What are the Signs You may be in an Abusive Church?” I was searching in Google for ‘battered sheep’ and a link to your blog came up.

    Why was I searching for ‘battered sheep’? Because it once was a working website, and I wished to link to it from my blog so my readers could check it out if they wanted. A friend had guided me to that website to let me know my questioning of the authority of the legalistic church I was attending was a spiritually healthy thing to do. He was ordained as a pastor of that same denomination, yet he was questioning the very same things. I’m so grateful for him for leading me out.

    It’s been years in the making, and a lot of studying of doctrine to undo what crafty, deceitful religious leaders, speakers, and writers have done, but my desire going forward is to reach out to those who have left the church hurting, are afraid to enter certain churches (and should be), and most of all want what I wanted (and still want) which is to understand, “Why do I believe what I believe?”

    What’s that have to do with you? I’m going to be checking out your various posts first, but I wanted to ask your permission to link to your blog if I find something that ties in with my message and is relevant to my audience. I want to give you proper credit.

    If for any reason you do not feel comfortable granting that permission, that’s perfectly fine. No harm done. I currently don’t experience abusers, but who’s to say that won’t happen in the future; we’re on a battlefield after all.

    I believe if you click on my name in this reply it will bring you to my blog. Also, I checked the box when leaving a comment to get notified of new comments via email, so just replying here is enough.

    Thank you very much for your time, consideration, and especially your ministry.

    Dwight

    • Scarlett says:

      Of course Brother Dwight, please free to re-blog articles you may feel relevant for your purposes. There is a re-blog link at the bottom of my posts. You may wish to read my “About” page first to understand why I have arrived at this place in my Christian journey. As I do not categorize my post, it would also be helpful to Google my WordPress address with the addition of the Words, “Doctrines and Deeds of the Nicolaitans”. Why? Because this is the very root cause of why the modern organized church is at odds with the principles of the church, (more properly ekklesia) as founded by Jesus Christ in the Book of Acts. And..why, the modern church is in the sorry apostate state it’s presently in due to the clergy/laity divide.
      God bless you as you move forward in your Christian walk,
      Scarlett
      Scarlett

  2. Thanks for reminding us of this! This kind of thing happens in the online community in general. One time there was a dude who tried (and failed) to get me to have sex with him, saying it was “God’s will.” People are scary. We have to be careful who we confide in because controlling people prey on the lonely.

    • Scarlett says:

      Amen! Also, we really do need to be mindful of what personal information we allow to be made public. Because some of these predators use that to deceive us. They read between the lines to “profile” people and to try and get their foot in the door so to speak…
      And this business of saying something is “Gods will”, or that “The Lord has this or that word for you”….well, we’re better beware. Sad to say, but this happens a lot in the Christian community. My policy is to “guard your inner circle”, friends, online contacts, and relationships.Yes, we must not allow in, everyone who comes knocking on our door, online or otherwise.
      Thanks for your comment! 🙂
      Blessings,
      Scarlett

  3. Your thoughts help me, Scarlett, reminding me to respect others’ boundaries, to be sure if I should speak on issues when visiting another’s blog and to protect my own space also. Now if I read something I believe is wrong I suffer it. Maybe if we weep and pray more and air less of our views in comments, the Lord will be pleased.

    Recently, someone who teaches lies about the apostle Paul left a YouTube link in a comment and subscribed to my blog. Sad, but part of what we all experience.

    Lord bless you!

    • Scarlett says:

      Sister, thank you for your kind comment. In the case of my post, this was a very serious issue or I would not have made such a strong post. Others on WordPress are being affected

      Unfortunately, there are many deceivers who operate on the Internet with apparent impunity.

      I think of Titus 1, “Who’s mouths must be stopped”…not just talking about Judaisers only,

      You should sent such comments as the one you mentioned straight to the trash folder, and/or possibly edit the persons comment with a mention that you will not allow such comments on your blog. This is not only your right to do so, to protect yourself, and your blog, but a responsibility to protect other bloggers who visit your blog who could be led astray by these predators.
      True Christians aren’t pushy, intrusive, or devious. amen

      Blessings always,
      Scarlett

Leave a Reply

