Worry is Sin- and Can Bring Serious Consequences

 

I am amazed and greatly humbled by so many Christians greater than I, that grace these blogs with words and prayers of encouragement. Thank you all and may the Lord Jesus bless you.

I don’t always, or even usually …know how to handle a difficult situation, but the Lord has to remind me of my place, not to worry about it, but whatever it is….to lay it down before Him and let Him deal with it. To trust Him to work it out no matter what is going on.

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Philippians 4

That passage of scripture is about not worrying. There was a time when there was a very difficult situation arose that was a matter of life and death. I was worrying, fretting and stewing about it. I was trying to figure out a way to work this out. I was a new Christian, but I should have known better than what I was doing…I was worrying.  Even as I worried, I had no idea just how serious things were about to become, but the Lord, who sees all…knew.

Finally the Lord had to step in, and speak to me. What He said was related to that passage. He told me this: “Have I not told you to be careful for nothing, yet you say, I am not worrying, but you are, because you are thinking about it, and talking about it. You are worrying. And I am telling you to let go! Let go! Because until you do, I can do nothing!  I CANNOT MOVE as long as you continue worrying.

You must let go!”

Finally, it dawned on me just how serious this must be, if the Lord was so adamant in what He was saying. Somehow I realized that I must do this…to stop worrying and let Him deal with the situation. I still had no idea exactly what was going on many miles away in my loved ones life…not until much later.

The Lord means what He says in His Word, and He is bound to honor that. And if we don’t obey, it can be to our hurt, or even bring a serious consequence to a loved one we are praying for. So, why was He impressing it so strongly to me to “let go” of it and stop worrying.  I began to realize that according to His Word, worry is sin, because it is not of faith, and anything not of faith, (in Him), is sin, and more that God cannot look upon sin!

“Thou art of purer eyes than to behold evil, and canst not look on iniquity” Habakuk 1;13

The Father even had to turn His eyes away from the Lord Jesus as He suffered on the Cross. Many wonder why Jesus cried out, “My God My God, why have thou forsaken Me?” https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+22&version=ESV, It was because God can’t look upon sin and the Lord Jesus had been made sin for us there on the Cross, paying that terrible price to save us from the curse of the law of sin and death.

But…even though I began to understand what the Lord was saying, I found it difficult to stop worrying, thinking about the problem, and talking about it. I had prayed and prayed but was not getting the results I so desperately wanted and needed, so for the next week, I continued to stew and fret and try as I might to obey what the Lord was warning me about to let go of it and let Him take over. Finally after a miserable whole week, I was able to get this off my shoulders and give this problem to the Lord. Then within a few days, the answer came.  It turned out to be a life and death situation by the time it was over. There was a desperate phone call from my mother, and I had to leave immediately to go a great distance and pick up both her and my Dad. When I got them both back at my home, I called the nursing agency to come right away to check my Dad. His urine was a very dark brown and he just wasn’t right. He’d had a stroke previously and was in very poor health. Waiting for the nurse to come, I ran for some Pediolyte, feeling that Dad would be scared if I took him to the ER. Soon, the nurse came and checked him and after I told her how dark his urine was, she told me that he might have died if I had not gone and picked them up when I did.  He began to recuperate quickly and responded to the Pediolyte, rest and good food. Long story short,  I found out that the nursing service that had been hired to take care of him where they were at, was not doing the job, and had allowed him to decline. My mother told me that the Lord impressed her to call me and ask me to come and get them.

As I pondered all these things, I realized then, how serious worry can be, and how it can handicap even the Most High God from acting in our behalf.  God is sovereign but He is still bound to honor His Word, and to His children who know His Word, they are also bound to obey it.

That is why He said, “Have I not told you to be careful for nothing”. It means what it says, and sometimes just as seriously as I have described. It can be life or death to disobey.

Leave a Reply

