Many are Still Saying “Give us Barabbas”

images

I have promised myself that I wasn’t going to get overly involved in this election,  and that I’d try and keep my focus on “things above” not the three ringed circus it’s getting to be here on planet earth, but I came across an excellent post by Daniel Mark that echos my sentiments exactly. It does seem like history repeats itself and the more things change, the more they stay the same; just the faces and names are different.  

A Dose of Reality

“Here we are in another presidential election season and I’m disturbed, but not surprised,  to see the reactions from all sides. From condemnation of the individual candidates and acclaiming your own, to voting is your Christian duty. From Trump is the savior we’ve been waiting for, to he’s the anti-christ. Hillary is Satan’s daughter, Bernie is the choice of economic idiots, blah blah blah. If I left out your favorite candidate, my apologies, but the dose of reality here is you’re all playing the game, you’re all a part of the problem.

The world truly does abide in Satan, the evil one. All the kingdoms of the world belong to him now. Some countries may be better off than others, but all are on the way to totalitarian societies, police states, perpetual war and enslavement of the population. There are some who believe they are “Christian” patriots who fight in Satan’s wars, or are arming themselves to take back “America for Christ.” I think they have lost sight of the Gospel and of their own part in the true Kingdom of God.

1Jn 5:19  And we know that we are of God, and the whole world lieth in wickedness.

2Co 10:3-5 For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

The citizens of this country have to realize they are not going to get a political solution to the problem. You are not going to vote in a true reformer of the process, this simply will not be allowed to happen. The counter intelligence apparatus in place is so large, powerful and effective that any true reform will be crushed ala Occupy Wall-Street, resistance to war, Persian Gulf, Vietnam etc. The system is set up to perpetuate endless war and theft of the wealth of the lower classes funneling up to the moneyed elite. You aren’t going to change it. As a Christian it’s not your job to change it, not a commandment in the Bible, not your moral duty.

We have as an example our Lord Jesus, and the first Christians, or disciples, they did not threaten the government of the time, the Roman Empire, with armed rebellion, they simply refused to be a part of it. They would preach the Gospel, whether they were imprisoned for it, executed, whatever the case was, they did the will of God. They did not think they were going to reform the system, but they could reform individuals by preaching the true Gospel and let the Holy Spirit of God take over from there. You can’t build the Kingdom of God from the inside, you must come out of the system and preach the truth, regardless of the consequences.

I believe it was Einstein who said that insanity is believing that doing the same thing over and over again will bring about different results. Like all of you I hate war, abortion, theft of our personal wealth, etc, but I don’t believe we can elect a king who will change it. We have one King and when He returns He’ll deal with the Satanic kingdoms and all those who believe it’s their patriotic duty to fight for them.”

Many thanks to Daniel Mark over at Perverted Christianity for this excellent post:

http://perverted-christianity.blogspot.com/2016/02/a-dose-of-reality.html

 

8 comments on “Many are Still Saying “Give us Barabbas”

  1. Excellent, Scarlett! Truly helpful find.

  2. I hope it is ok sister that I write a quick response to this. I always have a tendency to respond as though someone is talking to me, when in reality, they really are not. It’s also ok if you don’t want to make this public. First, I have a really hard time understanding why anyone who is sold out to Christ would ever put their hope in a presidential election, rather than looking to the Lord, the author and finisher of our faith. So this does not speak to my issues, I am so very clear that it is GOD who is in control, he sets up worldly kingdoms and he brings down worldly kingdoms. The conflict I experience with this piece and others like it, is that it has a tendency to put the Devil in control when he is not.

    This attitude of “go ahead and let this Jezebel Hillary lead the country, it’s all going to hell in a hand bag anyway” – I don’t subscribe to that way of thinking. This piece is heavily influenced by a world view of conspiracy, rather than a look to the hope of glory founded on the Scriptures. We as servants of the most high, whose wisdom and knowledge begins with the fear of God should be able to judge men rightly. It is absolutely true that a true saint will not be our next president here in the USA, there are no saints running. None of these people are without major error, but we should, according to the scriptures, know the difference between vile men and “good” men, so we should be letting that wisdom known and exercised to the extent we can. My focus is on a hope and a promise founded in the scriptures and I look to the Lord to return and destroy this evil. In the meantime before the Lord returns, I expect that he will be bringing about a people, a city without spot or wrinkle to show forth the praises of God, a testimony here on earth, that’s my focus and where my desires lay.

    • Scarlett says:

      Hi Brother Robert. I know you are a busy man, but actually, if you read that post correctly, you and the writer are on the same page, right along with me. I must say however, that I am very disappointed in these presidential candidates, in that they seem to be a reflection, a “mirror”, if you will, of the general population. Nevertheless, the issue here is that the Lord Jesus is in control ultimately and yes, indeed, He will by His Sovereignty, and design, allow the people to go ahead and make a worse mess of things if that is what they foolishly choose to do. And it’s obvious to me they are headed in that direction with each new election. However, that does not mean the Lord will not judge them for their folly. He is, has been and always will be in charge. If I simply looked at the state of America and this life for my hope, I would be like the Apostle Paul who took it a step further;

      1 Corinthians 15:19King James Version (KJV)

      19 If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable.

      I hope you are doing well.
      Love in the Lord Jesus,
      Scarlett

      • Hello Sister, I hope you are doing fine as well, thanks for asking! I only comment because I would hope that we all, as lovers of truth and being committed to the Lord and his kingdom, would share the same hope. I also am commenting because of my intense interest in this subject. I do have a personal history with the person who originated the piece, I guess it is possible that I was reading it through those lens. However, there is a reason that they say don’t talk to people about politics or religion, people get very emotional over both. We servants of righteousness should never be afraid to do either, we are not controlled by emotions, but led by the Spirit of God, that of course is the way it should be. I can as well see major flaws in each candidate running for president. It’s hard not to put your oar in the water and at least wonder why people, who claim to know the Lord and walk in his wisdom, why they don’t understand the complete train wreck that a Hilary Clinton presidency would hand to the country. Any of the other characters on the Republican side would be light years better outside of an act of God, which very well could be the case. In the last 7 years the world has see a measurable increase in the mass murder of proclaiming Christians in the world, this is directly related to the policies of the Obama administration. There is an evil vile spirit who naturally claims ignorance when proclaiming Christians are killed, while at the same time, in the same breath, showing high offense at any perceived Islamophobia, giving much attention to every false claim of the sort. I don’t pretend to tell you something you don’t know. So the real question is what should us Christians do? Yes are kingdom is not of this world but we better be aware of what the Lord is doing, rather than getting involved in the emotions of personalities good or bad, these are all very flawed people. I’ll leave you with this, maybe we have seen the “Obamanation of Desolation” over the last 7 years and maybe next we will see the “Last Trump” – just a thought.
        God Bless!

      • Scarlett says:

        A very telling thought indeed brother Robert. Even though we are to be in this world and not of it, it’s very difficult to see the beautiful country we were born and raised in, literally destroyed by people that have ulterior motives and wicked ambitions.
        Thank you for asking how I am. Actually…..I have been going through an exceptionally difficult and ongoing fiery trial on several different fronts, especially in my health…….. ever since I moved to this waste howling wilderness.
        Wondering if you still have your Skype fellowship open Sundays? I’ve been thinking about trying to find a godly fellowship online.
        Lord bless you and the family….

      • Any time you would like to join us, you know I will set up the Skype just for you. Email or call me sister.

      • Scarlett says:

        That’s very kind of you to say, Brother, but “just for me”? I would feel like an eavesdropper, but if you should happen to gather a few more, please let me know so I can sometimes join in.
        In the meantime, please remember me in prayer on occasion as I shall you. You are an excellent writer, and really do have so much biblical knowledge and wisdom stored up. That is a rare thing these days.
        May grace and peace be multiplied to you and yours….:)

Leave a Reply

