Favorite Scriptures #1 – The Purpose of Life: Paul’s attitude towards life in light of what Jesus Christ did for him (Philippians 3:7-14)

Following Jesus Christ

When I was I was in my late teens, I was given Philippians 3:7-14, to memorize by a friend. As soon as I read that passage I knew that I had been given powerful, life-altering truths that would change the way I approached Jesus Christ forever. It was like a sharp double-edged sword of truth had been thrust deeply into my youthful selfishness, pride, greed, and lust. For the past 25 years there has rarely been a day when I haven’t quoted at least a part of that passage to myself. I still don’t live these verses as much as I’d like to…but I am praying that the spirit will continue to work their truths into me as I meditate on them day and night:

7 But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. 8 What is more, I consider everything a loss…

View original post 508 more words

Leave a Reply

