Jim Bakker-Trying to Rebuild What God Tore Down

 

 

 

So….is this what passes for Christianity these days?
If so, now we have an idea of why it says in the bible, “Jesus wept”.
Hmm, for some bizarre reason I’d never seen The Jim Bakker Show”, maybe because he was a little before my time, back in the days of being a newly saved Christian. I just knew that “humpty dumpty” had a great fall and figured that he wasn’t going to be put back together again, but lo and behold, as it says, here he is back again, and apparently using that same old format that he and Tammy Faye used back in their pre-disgraced days of the PTL Club.

Folks, this is truly disgusting, and frankly, I don’t know how long God is going to put up with it. Yes, I know that it says God is longsuffering and his mercy endures forever, but does his patience include eternally turning a blind eye on those he has already chastened and warned severely, previously? You’d think Jim would get the idea after awhile, but no, here he is again at the Jim Bakker club complete with tables of deluded guests being entertained with pseudo sanctified drivel and vomit at what he’s trying to pass off as the table of the Lord. It’s a shame! No wonder the world has begun to laugh at Christianity. It’s those like this that cause the way of truth to be evil spoken of.

I wonder…does he, or his new side kick replacement of Tammy Faye, really think they can rebuild what God tore down once? This makes me angry, yes, but it also makes me sad because I know he is deceiving people and scamming money from them, just like a multitude of other false prophets and teachers.

Friends, I just know that the apostasy that’s spreading like cancer is not of God and is surely going to bring down the wrath and righteous anger of the LORD, because it bears NO resemblance to the early church that Jesus set up in the book of Acts. Jim is looking more and more comical and ridiculous all the time. I’m not sure how anyone can take this man, (or woman), seriously!

17 comments on “Jim Bakker-Trying to Rebuild What God Tore Down

  1. Jim Bakker preaches a false gospel. It is not the gospel of the New Testament which reveals that we as humans are sinners and and that Christ died on the cross so that we might come to him and in turn receive eternal life. Jim Bakker’s gospel teaches that trusting in God will save you from a host of earthly problems and help you prepare for the fall of the U.S. as we know it. Bakker teaches to prepare for coming famines, pestilence, war, etc. whereas the gospel of Christ teaches us not to worry about the provisions of tomorrow, but if we have food and clothing for today we should be content. Bakker appears to profit from the scare tactics he uses on his TV show by selling food and other products preparing his listeners for the coming fall of the US civilization. The early church sold and gave away their possessions to the needy who received gifts free of charge. Would Bakker be willing to give away his food buckets free of charge?
    Jim Bakker does at times teach some Bible truths. AMERICA does need to REPENT !!! and God may JUDGE AMERICA and maybe soon. However, Bakker’s methods seem completely contrary to a majority of the teachings of Christ and the Apostles and other New Testament writers.
    JIM BAKKER – Do you need to REPENT? God is your judge.

    • Scarlett says:

      Thank you for your comment Allen. I do agree with what you’ve plainly said here, and have thought the same thing myself. I find it very strange that Jim Bakker is still profiting from hawking his false spiritual wares on his “show”, but then again, from my observations it seems that most of his viewers prefer entertainment to the convicting message of truth in the gospel of Jesus Christ. By placing our complete trust in the Lord Jesus, and obeying Him, we need not fear anything, or lack any true need. Christians can learn to enter into His Rest, if they will learn this precious truth.

  2. Scarlett says:

    Update: So, the beat goes on and so does the hucksterism on the “Jim Bakker Show”. By the way, aren’t we supposed to magnify Jesus and lift HIM up instead of ourselves? As John the Baptist put it, “He must increase and I must decrease”. I believe this is the proper order of things, so if Jim Bakker intended to magnify Jesus, wouldn’t he at least name the show, “The Jesus Show”? But then, that would no doubt be an embaressment to have Christ’s Holy Name attached to such a disgraceful mess.

    The people of God, if they are really wanting to honor and serve God, would do well to develop godly discernment, and heed the warning not to follow and listen to men, rather than the Lord.

    Just the fact that Jim Bakker invites false teachers, false prophets such as Rick Joyner, Cindy Jacobs, and other wolves in sheep’s clothing on his “show”, should be enough to proof that Jim Bakker is not only a deceiver himself, but cares nothing for the care of the Lord’s flock.

    http://slaughteringthesheep.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/jim-bakker-and-cindy-jacobs-claim-they-prophesied-911/

  3. Laurie says:

    As a believer, the Holy Spirit automatically gives me a check in my spirit every time I watch the Jim Bakker Show. I have tried myself to put this aside for the sake of another believer (Jim Bakker) but the check keeps returning regardless of my trying to put it from me. I am not confident as yet if Jim Bakker is following the Truth of scripture because I am not as discerning as I should be in other matters of life and Godliness for myself and MY own walk with the Lord.. All I can go by is every single time I give him the benefit of the doubt, I continue to have a check in my spirit which never goes away. Am I judging wrongly (by my flesh) or is it the Spirit that is warning me? I never really liked being judgmental of other believers but there is something “off” and I do not have a peace about him and his ministry at all!

    • Scarlett says:

      Dear Laurie,
      I am familiar with “the check in the spirit”. It is indeed a warning from the Holy Spirit. Of course it is wrong to have a critical, judgmental spirit, harsely judging other Christians, (if indeed they are true believers),but the Spirit will WARN us if something is not right and doesn’t line up with the Word of God. And Jesus told us to judge with righteous judgment. Otherwise, we wouldn’t even know how to discern right from wrong. Can you see that Jim Bakker is attempting to rebuild what God torn down when Jim Bakker fell from grace the first time, in exactly the same format?

      Study and trust the Word of God only, and pray for discernment and godly wisdom daily, and the Lord will show you many things that will astonish you and help keep you on the narrow path. My advice, given with the love of Jesus is to stop watching this “show”, which is not edifying to your spirit, but merely “Christianized entertainment”.

      See my post on The Snare of the Fowler:

      https://spiritualabusesanctuary.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/what-is-the-snare-of-the-fowler-and-who-or-what-is-a-fowler/

      Jesus bless you,

      Scarlett

  4. The Holy Spirit has been sent as the Spirit of truth to guide us into all the truth, so that there shall be no shadow whatever between God and ourselves as to His absolute faithfulness, His truth to Himself, and to all His word. The Holy Spirit has come for that. If that is true, then the Holy Spirit will deal with all disciples in the School of Christ to undercut everything that is not true, that is not genuine, to make every such disciple to stand upon a foundation which can abide before God in the day of His absolute and utter vindication. But in order that this may be so, you and I, under the Holy Spirit’s teaching, have to be dealt with very faithfully, and have to come to the place where we are perfectly adjustable before God, where there is all responsiveness to the Holy Spirit, and nothing in us that resists or refuses the Holy Spirit, but where we are perfectly open and ready for the biggest consequence of the Holy Spirit putting His finger upon anything in our lives needing to be dealt with and adjusted. He is here for that.

    The alternative to such a work of the Holy Spirit being allowed to be done in us is that we shall find ourselves in a false position, and it is far, far too costly to find ourselves in a false position, even though it only be on certain points. This is a false world we are living in, a world that is carried on upon lies. The whole constitution of this world is a lie, and it is in the very nature of man, though multitudes do not know it, but think they are true. They are trying to build the world on a false foundation. The Kingdom of God is altogether other. It is built upon Jesus Christ, the Truth. ~ T. Austin Sparks
    http://www.austin-sparks.net/english/books/001034.html

    • Scarlett says:

      Are you “the” Michael Clark of Wilderness Voice? If so, I tried to reblog your article on “A New Day Coming”, but I tried to include a song, “You are My Hiding Place”, but as with some of the many clumsy things I do, it didn’t work, so it was late and I put it on the shelf for another time. And, instead, apparently this humble blog was honored with a visit. I have read and admired your work for years. “The Great Ecclesiastical Conspiracy” really opened my eyes to some truths the Holy Spirit was trying to teach me about “church normal” and the KJV

      Thank you for stopping by with words of wisdom. Please fee free to do that anytime. We need all the godly wisdom around here we can get. 🙂

  5. So Jesus answered them, “My teaching is not mine, but his who sent me; if any man’s will is to do his will, he shall know whether the teaching is from God or whether I am speaking on my own authority. He who speaks on his own authority seeks his own glory; but he who seeks the glory of him who sent him is true, and in him there is no falsehood.” (Joh 7:16-18 RSVA)

    It is all a question of will. Who’s will are these so-called “ministers of Christ” doing? Who’s glory are they seeking. Jesus said that blind guides lead blind people. Blind people need blind guides. Didn’t He say, “Leave them alone”? Let them fall into their respective ditches. Sometimes the only teacher that people can truly learn from is a ditch filled with effluent. Belive me, it can be an eye opening experience.

    • Scarlett says:

      That’s obviously very true, All we try to do here is put up as many warnings as we can about various ditches, and hope that people will avoid them, or the ones who are in the ditch, pull themselves out of it.

  6. Scarlett says:

    He’s deluded, but not THAT deluded Russell. He knows what he’s doing. Some people learn when their sins get punished, but apparently not ole Jim Bakker. He’s right back at it again.

    The link I posted on one of my comments, (above) and here, http://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/a-former-employee-speaks-out-in-regards-to-morningside-and-jim-bakker/ indicate from what one of the people said, that Bakker was “bankrolled” by some promoter in Florida to get his “show” up and running again in Branson, Missouri, (Blue Eye, MO is actually a suburb) and that this promoter pulls the strings on Bakker and tells him what to do….and, what to sell and for how much. This would not surprise me as it has all the earmarks of a “Balaam” operation.

    This is rather like the Jimmy Swaggart scenario if you check up on Michelle McCumbers well done site, “Deception Bytes”. Jimmy went right back in with a song and dance and there are reports that he is doing some very hypocritical things for a guy who is supposed to be preaching the gospel and is -soooo — very very “broken and contrite” what with all the crocodile tears and such. Oh, that root of all evil, money, and what it does to people!!

    Anyway, whether Jim Bakker is being bought and paid for or not by some promoter….. like Baalam, he is still deceiving people, hawking Jesus junk to people like a common snake oil salesman. A mere con artist, we’d know to avoid, but it’s the wolves coming on as Christians, and wearing sheep’s clothing that are especially dangerous, because for those lacking discernment, they’re harder to detect. These guys don’t open up their “shows” everyday with the announcement, “Hey, I’m a wolf pretending to be one of you Christians and I’m here to lie to you and steal your money!”

    So, yes, study, continue on your journey, trusting in Jesus and His Truths, but be wise as a serpent and as harmless as a dove, (and as nice as you can be when someone has tested and tried your faith and your patience to the max), but MOVE ON. However, if someone is committing an outright fraud, find out what you can about it and contact “Ministry Watch” that tries to keep tabs on such things, and if they can’t do anything, ask them who can, and where to report mail order fraud, and such things, because I’m not sure. I am glad you told me about this and I will look at these links if you will send them and maybe post them on this blog.

    God bless you mightily Russell. You may be one of God’s Watchmen on the Wall exposing the unfruitful works of darkness. I try. I spend a lot of time I could be doing other things I’d like to do, and I sure don’t make any money from it, but I do it because, like you, I don’t like to see people defrauded and deceived!

    The hour is late and I don’t have time to mess around with nonsense and foolishness, and I know you’re not an Internet busybody running around sticking your nose in other Christian’s business out of idleness and as a “curiosity seeker, and then spreading gossip just to be doing it and then doing NOTHING about it that glorifies God or promotes the Kingdom of God, but that you are genuinely concerned but perhaps just not quite sure yet, what to do about it. The Lord will show you as you trust in Him. Amen!

    Scarlett

  7. Russell says:

    One more thought, there was a news article this morning 3 women that approached Asian woman and told her she was plagued by evil spirits and that her family was in danger. In short they frightened her into giving them money. Basically scammed them. The police caught them with 2 million dollars from other victims they scammed. This sounds very familiar. There has already been talk about some of the items ordered from Bakker not being delivered. What bothers me so much is using the name of God to promote hate and fear. He is now sing the excuse on his program that the ones who do good will be said to be doing evil and vice versa. Funny how this turns into a disclaimer for him…he is a very clever man. Is there anything that can be done? This thing is happening again. I do believe in prayer but c’mon. I have complained to the local station carrying his program with no response. I am thinking about sending a complaint to the chamber of commerce. I am not one to judge. I approach my life with all the humility that I can. But when I see others place judgement on people and then say they are not judging, it is God…that just gets under my skin.

    To the webmaster, thank you for providing a voice for those who are concerned.

    • Scarlett says:

      I understand Russell. Unfortunately, these abuses have gone on from the time wicked men hanged the spotless Lamb of God, Jesus Christ, on that cruel instrument of torture, and the abuses will continue until the LORD comes back.

      To just take a complaint to the Chamber of Commerce would be like trying to stomp a forest fire out with your feet. It’s best to try and keep a balance. Keep your focus on Jesus, prayer and being a good witness for the most part and your eyes not very much on wolves in sheep’s clothing except to warn others as the opportunity provides a way. That’s what the apostles did, and they were pretty good examples to follow.

      Also, if you can bring back legitimate links to sources that give evidence of items that were ordered from Jim Bakker, I will consider posting them.

      Thank you and God bless,

      Scarlett

      • Russell says:

        Thanks Scarlett,

        Yes, you are right, there is far too much good going on in the world to focus on this. Also, complaints do nothing as you have said really. I guess we should pray that people are not that naive and gullible to fall for this.

        I am rather curious though on how he can live with himself. Is he that self deluded?

        About links, I am not sure what you would like. There are numerous reports on other blogs about customer still waiting on product and some, as in the case of raising money for children in Muldova that didn’t go as planned and, after receiving monies for missions to this area found that they could not do what they said they could do.

        Also, his products are overpriced. He is trying to sell, excuse me, “love gift”. a lamp called “Grandma Char’s Lamp” for $48. Just went to his site and couldn’t find it but he advertised it on his Thanksgiving Day special. This is a basic Hercules lamp for $25 on Amazon http://compare.ebay.com/like/270848574784?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar

        I guess I should keep this in context. If I just look at Bakker as a con artist and not a Christian, my expectations of him change. I have to remember he was convicted of fraud.

        Scarlett, I have to tell you and you made me think. What bothers me so much about this is that I am what I being the best Christian I can be but my life has been full of people like this all my life and it has definitely challenged my faith. But you are right, I should keep these people in perspective, understand they are NOT the voice of God and continue on with my journey.

  8. Russell says:

    I couldn’t agree more. SOMETHING needs to be done. I have monitored this show since the hurricane Sandy and the election and so much fear is used in this program to sell goods and using God and Jesus as a tool for his (and I do mean Jim when I say “his”) use.

    It’s funny that Jim’s sidekick on the show said once that a prophet is known to be true or false if his prophecies come to pass…well…plenty of Jim and his partner in hiding Joyner’s prophecies have not happened. After the election there was a lot of covering up regarding this.

    Finally, I am quite disturbed by the fear-mongering on this program after the election. Insinuating if not out right saying that America’s presidential choice was bringing judgement. Now I am not commenting on choice for president but it would appear to me that regardless who was elected that we continue to pray for the success of this nation. This can occure regardless of who is elected but it appears that the fear mongering on the program doesn’t go for what Christians are supposed to be the salt of the earth.

  9. Scarlett says:

    Update! Frankly, I hadn’t been keeping up with Jim Bakker., but now that I’ve been following up on him and his activities, I think there needs to be more scrutiny of this bunch!
    http://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/a-former-employee-speaks-out-in-regards-to-morningside-and-jim-bakker/
    More on this later!
    Scarlett

Leave a Reply

