Spiritual Abuse..Rampant in Today’s Churches

I wonder…how many Christians  are still locked into spiritual abuse in their local church or fellowship, and don’t even realize what they are giving allegiance to with their time, worship and money is “not all about Jesus Christ”, but rather man made doctrines, traditions of men that make the word of God of no effect. 

As a new Christian, this happened to me during my first years after joining a church. I’d been studying the word of God, I’d prayed earnestly, I was “on fire” for God, yet, something was nagging at my heart. Doubts. I kept asking myself why this church and other ones I’d visited didn’t seem to line up with the biblical model of the  church that Christ set up in the early church, described in the Book of Acts, and the epistles of the Apostles.

I knew that when I went to church and worshipped, the presence of the Holy Spirit would manifest, so I continued to rationalize that “church” as I experienced it, must be due to the change in the era. Still, the Holy Spirit kept reminding me that “Jesus doesn’t change”. He is the same today, yesterday and forever. I couldn’t shake this still small voice.

Finally, as I grew more mature in the scriptures, I started noticing there were practices in the church I belonged to that were mimicking the un-scriptural things they viewed on Christian TV. When I began hesitantly speaking to a few of my friends in church about these questions, they began to come against me. Looking back on the events that followed, I realize now, these were warning signals given me by the Holy Spirit.The upshot was that God Himself drew me out of this  spiritually abusive prison house of apostasy I’d been trapped in. I cannot begin to describe to you the sense of freedom, and liberation in my spirit, once out. However, that doesn’t mean there were not after effects from the abuse, rejection, and sense of isolation I felt after leaving the brethren and fellowship I loved.  There were many, and it has taken much time with Jesus to bring me through what was a very painful period in my life.

Folks, we should closely examine what our churches are teaching and practicing. For all of you who’ve come out of spiritually abusive churches, or..perhaps you feel you may be in one, I would recommend some of the excellent resources on the Internet where you can find help and fellowship with other Christians. This is one very good one that covers these issues in depth,  http://www.charismatic-captivation.com/?p=5 . And of course, you are welcome to make comments here in this blog and tell your personal story. We welcome comments.

 

5 comments on “Spiritual Abuse..Rampant in Today’s Churches

  1. Scarlett says:

    ZOeUErzszmca9hpCrYSNPyQdrNs

  2. Scarlett says:

    Meanwhile, as we’re all trying to keep body and soul together, earning a living, keeping food on the table and gas in the van, & gathering our kids round about us, and trying to keep the “world” at bay, out of our lives and homes, as well as out of our places of worship…the enemy is busy preparing for the Endgame, “The Gog Magog War”.

    The big scenario in the Middle East is looming on the horizon and getting closer everyday. While life goes on here at home, what’s soon coming will change our lives, and life from here on out will never be the same. Doom and gloom? No, just bible prophecy right there in the ole KJV, and oh, maybe downplayed or spun on the evening news to make it seem not so scary. But folks, it is scary and it is serious. Even though this is a spiritual abuse blog, I hope to cram as much info in this little piece of cyber space I can to warn folks. It’s up to them what they do with it. God bless you and those you love!

    The Coming Gog Magog War
    http://www.hearkenthewatchmen.com/article.asp?id=213

  3. Scarlett says:

    Hi Michael, yes, the problem is widespread but thanks to the Internet, the word is getting out about what until now has been the “best kept secret” of the churches. People from everywhere are coming out and telling their stories, because before they had no one to go to or support them in their anguish.

    I’m happy to hear you and your family are out of the spiritually abusive church you were in, and now growing and enjoying the LORD.

    Silence is never “golden” in cases of spiritual abuse. So, God bless you with success in your own blog endeavor. Keep us posted!

  4. I have been through the same and my family and I are in recovery. Learning and coming to know Jesus in a wonderful way. Minus all of the interference from the abusive leadership that we were under. I am working on a blog myself called good religion. It’s not ready yet but I am noticing how widespread this problem is. Keep blogging , this is a great way to reach people. This is a taboo topic, even those who leave the abuse are usually not willing to talk and heal. God bless you

  5. Scarlett says:

    Micah 4: 6 “In that day,” declares the LORD,
    “I will assemble the lame
    And gather the outcasts,
    Even those whom I have afflicted.
    7 “I will make the lame a remnant
    And the outcasts a strong nation,
    And the LORD will reign over them in Mount Zion
    From now on and forever.
    8 “As for you, [d]tower of the flock,
    [e]Hill of the daughter of Zion,
    To you it will come—
    Even the former dominion will come,
    The kingdom of the daughter of Jerusalem.

    9 “Now, why do you cry out loudly?
    Is there no king among you,
    Or has your counselor perished,
    That agony has gripped you like a woman in childbirth?
    10 “Writhe and labor to give birth,
    Daughter of Zion,
    Like a woman in childbirth;
    For now you will go out of the city,
    Dwell in the field,
    And go to Babylon.
    There you will be rescued;
    There the LORD will redeem you
    From the hand of your enemies.
    11 “And now many nations have been assembled against you
    Who say, ‘Let her be polluted,
    And let our eyes [f]gloat over Zion.’
    12 “But they do not know the thoughts of the LORD,
    And they do not understand His purpose;
    For He has gathered them like sheaves to the threshing floor.
    13 “Arise and thresh, daughter of Zion,
    For your horn I will make iron
    And your hoofs I will make bronze,
    That you may pulverize many peoples,
    That you may devote to the LORD their unjust gain
    And their wealth to the Lord of all the earth.

Leave a Reply

